RSS

Arkham Knight: The Killing Joke!

26 Jun

2690067-joker_shoots_barbara_2CTC-The-Killing-Joke

There’s certain moments in a fan’s life that are simply to amazing to express in any language known to man. I’ve always been a fan of The Batman, ever since watching Jack Nicholson’s representation of The Joker put a morbid smile on anyone using cosmetic products. “Where does he get those wonderful toys”. Now I had read Alan Moore and Brian Bolland’s The Killing joke once when I was young, it was handed to me by a friend who was a massive comic book guy, and would always keep me up to date on what was going on in the books. I was blown away by that book at the time but really didn’t get hit with it quite as hard as the second time I read it. Fast forward many years. I had recently quit doing Heroin, and all other related drugs, and was in the midst of some shit that I am never gonna be able to explain. During this time I developed a theory for myself. In short I decided that the person I had been, the piece of shit junkie thief, had to die in order for me to fully escape that person. So that’s what I did. I killed him and buried him in a shallow grave in the desert and am now the charming son of a bitch you all know and love today. Since that time I have reread The Killing Joke and one particular speech, delivered by The Joker, hit me right in the chest. I’ll end this with that particular monologue since it says the feeling better than I ever could. What follows is why The Joker is absolutely the most important fictional character in my life and also why, as you can hear, this scene in Arkham Knight had me squeeling like a child.

“Remembering’s dangerous. I find the past such a worrying, anxious place. “The Past Tense,” I suppose you’d call it. Memory’s so treacherous. One moment you’re lost in a carnival of delights, with poignant childhood aromas, the flashing neon of puberty, all that sentimental candy-floss… the next, it leads you somewhere you don’t want to go. Somewhere dark and cold, filled with the damp ambiguous shapes of things you’d hoped were forgotten. Memories can be vile, repulsive little brutes. Like children I suppose. But can we live without them? Memories are what our reason is based upon. If we can’t face them, we deny reason itself! Although, why not? We aren’t contractually tied down to rationality! There is no sanity clause! So when you find yourself locked onto an unpleasant train of thought, heading for the places in your past where the screaming is unbearable, remember there’s always madness. Madness is the emergency exit… you can just step outside, and close the door on all those dreadful things that happened. You can lock them away… forever.” – The Joker

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 26, 2015 in Video Games

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
